Myself, Bristol Palin And The Abstinence Message

lately I’ve been accused of being a hypocrite by the pro-abort trolls that can’t seem to keep their noses out of other people’s business.

I’m a hypocrite because I advocate for abstinence even though I myself have had a child out of wedlock.

My answer to that is: So what?

Why can’t I be an advocate for abstinence? Should I stand by and let others make the same mistake I did?  I don’t think so. People make mistakes. No one is perfect. I’ve never said that I was and I never will. I made a mistake. I learned from it and with that experience its my duty to teach others.

Bristol Palin feels the same way. She became an abstinence ambassador for the Candies Foundation after giving birth to her son Tripp.She’s using her experience as an example of what not to do. I think its admirable of her to use her experience to help prevent other teens from getting pregnant. There is a great interview with her  on the Christianity Today web site.

I understand that abstinence is not for everyone. I don’t expect every teen out there to practice it. I will however continue to advocate for it, as it is the ONLY 100% effective way to prevent pregnancy. That is what I intend to teach my daughters as well. If one slips up and ends up pregnant, they will have my full support. I can’t judge them because I’ve been there myself.

If some hear the message and decide its the way they want to go, good  for them. If they don’t, I can’t force them to, but at least I have put that information out there for them instead of sitting idly by while teens are getting pregnant and turning to abortion as a solution. Two wrongs don’t make it right.

God bless.

 

 

 

 

5 comments

  1. eMatters · May 3, 2013

    Your critics have no idea what words mean. Using their definitions, it would be hypocritical for anyone to ever caution against something they regret.

    Recovering alcoholics would be hypocrites for encouraging people not to abuse alcohol.

    Every person I’ve met in prison ministry would be a hypocrite for telling people not to commit crimes.

    And so on.

    Sadly, I knew people with really high IQs who refused to caution their kids against pre-marital sex because they thought it would be hypocritical. Screwtape lives.

  2. bronzebrunette20 · May 5, 2013

    Hahahah aha wow.
    We’re “pro-abort trolls” hey?
    Why not worry about yourself and your family. Don’t shove your crazy Christian views down other people’s throats?

    • Jennifer King · May 5, 2013

      How is abstinence a “Crazy Christian view”? How about you stop shoving your disregard for human life down MY throat? Works both ways babe.

  3. Pingback: Roundup | Eternity Matters
  4. eMatters · May 8, 2013

    “You shouldn’t crush and dismember innocent but unwanted human beings” = Crazy Christian views? Indeed. Tell that to the writers of the Hippocratic Oath, written hundreds of years before Jesus.

    And, as you noted, why doesn’t she worry about her own family and not shove her pro-abortion views down our throats? She came to your blog, after all.

Leave a Reply

