Pro-Abort and Christian? How?

The other day I was sparring yet again with the militant pro-aborts on facebook. One page in particular feels the need to comment on every post I make. Most of the time they are attempting to harass me personally, but other times they take swipes at my Christianity.

One of the administrators of this particular page claims to be a Christian and that her morals are straight. Yet she is a pro-abort and has teamed up with a militant atheist to run a hate page.

I pointed out this particular part of scripture, and she blew a blood vessel, accusing me of judging. (Again.)

2 Corinthians 6:14-18 (New Living Translation)

14 Don’t team up with those who are unbelievers. How can righteousness be a partner with wickedness? How can light live with darkness? 15 What harmony can there be between Christ and the devil? How can a believer be a partner with an unbeliever? 16 And what union can there be between God’s temple and idols? For we are the temple of the living God. As God said:

“I will live in them
    and walk among them.
I will be their God,
    and they will be my people.
17 Therefore, come out from among unbelievers,
    and separate yourselves from them, says the Lord.
Don’t touch their filthy things,
    and I will welcome you.
18 And I will be your Father,
    and you will be my sons and daughters,
    says the Lord Almighty.”

How can one be a Christian with “straight morals”, yet be yoked with an unbeliever? How can you work with someone who hates your God? The only answer I can think of is: You can’t.

She countered my verse with one of her own, and advised me to follow it:

1 Peter 3:15-16 (New Living Translation)

15 Instead, you must worship Christ as Lord of your life. And if someone asks about your Christian hope, always be ready to explain it. 16 But do this in a gentle and respectful way. Keep your conscience clear. Then if people speak against you, they will be ashamed when they see what a good life you live because you belong to Christ.

Isn’t that what we as pro-lifers do? Christ is the Lord of our lives. We are  always ready to explain Christian hope to those who ask. We are always gentle and respectful to those who ask us about our faith. The last sentence of verse 16 applies more to the pro-aborts who constantly speak against  us. We have  great lives because we belong to Christ.

The word Christian means to be like Christ. How can one  be like Christ while advocating for the murder of his most beloved? Simple answer: You’re not.

4 comments

  1. John Barron · March 22, 2013

    In my opinion, these wolves in sheep’s clothing are more detrimental to Christianity and its message than unbelievers. They lull Christians on the fence that being pro-abortion, pro- same sex marriage, and adopting worldly views is consistent with Christianity.

    Would you believe that I posted on Kermit Gosnell, and asked ardent pro-abortion readers (of which I have many) to weigh in on whether he did anything morally wrong. There are some who believe a mother should be able to abort at any time for any reason. I got crickets.

    • Jennifer King · March 22, 2013

      I have been posting quite a bit about Gosnell also. I get no meaningful response other than criticizing the number of times I have posted about him. The sad truth is that they just don’t care about women. They may claim they do, but it sure doesn’t show.

      • eMatters · March 23, 2013

        Typical of their mindset: What Gosnell did isn’t bad, but posting about it too much is!

  2. eMatters · March 23, 2013

    I suppose that someone could be “saved and confused” and not have carefully thought through abortion. But the pro-abort advocates claiming the name of Christ have all been wolves/tares in my experience. I have yet to meet one who holds to the essentials and is pro-abortion.

Leave a Reply

