The Pro-Aborts are Twisting the Bible… Again.

Pro-aborts try to use the bible to justify killing a human being in the womb.

Here’s the latest round of verses they try to use to make their case:

Genesis 2:7  Then the Lord God formed the man from the dust of the ground. He breathed the breath of life into the man’s nostrils, and the man became a living person.

Take a closer look into that verse. It clearly states that God  breathed the breath of life, it did not state that Adam took a breath. Since Adam was the very first human being, God had to bring him to life since there was no egg, sperm or womb to do the job.

Job 33:4 For the Spirit of God has made me, and the breath of the Almighty gives me life.

Again it states “the breath of the Almighty”  It does not state that Elihu  took a breath.

God gives us the breath of life. That breath begins at conception, not when a child is born.

Here are a few more:

Ezekiel 37:5-6 This is what the Sovereign Lord says: Look! I am going to put breath into you and make you live again! I will put flesh and muscles on you and cover you with skin. I will put breath into you, and you will come to life. Then you will know that I am the Lord.’”

This is taken out of context. Read the chapter from the beginning and you get a whole new picture:

The Lord took hold of me, and I was carried away by the Spirit of the Lord to a valley filled with bones. He led me all around among the bones that covered the valley floor. They were scattered everywhere across the ground and were completely dried out. Then he asked me, “Son of man, can these bones become living people again?”

“O Sovereign Lord,” I replied, “you alone know the answer to that.”

Then he said to me, “Speak a prophetic message to these bones and say, ‘Dry bones, listen to the word of the Lord! This is what the Sovereign Lord says: Look! I am going to put breath into you and make you live again! I will put flesh and muscles on you and cover you with skin. I will put breath into you, and you will come to life. Then you will know that I am the Lord.’”

The bones in this passage that the Lord is speaking about are bones of people who have already lived and died.

God is the only one who can give life back to a long dead body; or in this case, a set of dried up old bones.

Exodus 21:22  “Now suppose two men are fighting, and in the process they accidentally strike a pregnant woman so she gives birth prematurely.[a] If no further injury results, the man who struck the woman must pay the amount of compensation the woman’s husband demands and the judges approve.

This is not only taken out of context, but misunderstood as well. They are assuming that “no further injury” means no injury to the mother, but it also applies to the child. Reading the rest of the paragraph makes this clear:

Verse 23-25 states: 23 But if there is further injury, the punishment must match the injury: a life for a life, 24 an eye for an eye, a tooth for a tooth, a hand for a hand, a foot for a foot, 25 a burn for a burn, a wound for a wound, a bruise for a bruise.

“A life for a life” means the life of the mother or the life of the child.

In Numbers 5:22 The pro-aborts claim that God orders an abortion. I don’t know what version they are reading, (no citation is given, except for a link to another blog post about this passage) This is what they claim it states in the blog post: “May this water that brings a curse enter your body so that your abdomen swells or your womb miscarries.” But the New Living Translation the verse reads like this:

“Now may this water that brings the curse enter your body and cause your abdomen to swell and your womb to shrivel”

I take that as the woman will become infertile. Sorry guys, no abortion here. I’ve checked several other bible versions, and they all read that passage the same.

There are plenty of verses in the bible that support that life begins at conception though. Some can even argue that life for us in the eyes of God begins before conception, since God knows us all before we are born.

Jeremiah 1:5 RSV

“Before I formed you in the womb I knew you, and before you were born I consecrated you; I appointed you a prophet to the nations.”

Luke 1:13-15 RSV

But the angel said to him, “Do not be afraid, Zechariah, for your prayer is heard, and your wife Elizabeth will bear you a son, and you shall call his name John [see John The Baptist]. And you will have joy and gladness, and many will rejoice at his birth; for he will be great before The Lord, and he shall drink no wine nor strong drink, and he will be filled with the Holy Spirit, even from his mother’s womb.”

Psalm 139:13 RSV

“For Thou didst form my inward parts, Thou didst knit me together in my mother’s womb.”

Genesis 25:23-26 RSV

“And The Lord said to her, “Two nations are in your womb, and two peoples, born of you, shall be divided; the one shall be stronger than the other, the elder shall serve the younger.” When her days to be delivered were fulfilled, behold, there were twins in her womb. The first came forth red, all his body like a hairy mantle; so they called his name Esau. Afterward his brother came forth, and his hand had taken hold of Esau’s heel; so his name was called Jacob.”

Luke 1:30-31 RSV

“And the angel said to her, “Do not be afraid, Mary, for you have found favor with God. And behold, you will conceive in your womb and bear a son, and you shall call his name Jesus.”

Psalm 139:15-16 NLT

You watched me as I was being formed in utter seclusion, as I was woven together in the dark of the womb. You saw me before I was born. Every day of my life was recorded in your book. Every moment was laid out before a single day had passed.
The passages quoted here by pro-aborts trying to support a biblical justification for abortion came from a lovely little blog called the christian left blog. Well the name of the blog alone is a dead giveaway that the passages are going to be taken out of context, twisted or misinterpreted to suit the leftist agenda. These folks are pseudo-Christians. They do not follow all of God’s word. They follow what they agree with and twist the rest to suit them or ignore it outright.

They need to take a word of advice from Gregory Koukl. “Never read a bible verse!” In his article he states:

“When I’m on the radio, I use this simple rule to help me answer the majority of Bible questions I’m asked, even when I’m totally unfamiliar with the verse. It’s an amazingly effective technique you can use, too.

I read the paragraph, not just the verse. I take stock of the relevant material above and below. Since the context frames the verse and gives it specific meaning, I let it tell me what’s going on.

This works because of a basic rule of all communication: Meaning always flows from the top down, from the larger units to the smaller units, not the other way around. The key to the meaning of any verse comes from the paragraph, not just from the individual words.”

Wise advice.

Until next time friends, God Bless.

One comment

  1. eMatters · January 24, 2013

    I saw the verse about Adam used recently by somehow who obviously doesn’t believe the Bible. In fact, I’ve yet to see anyone rationalize abortion with the Bible who takes the Bible seriously in all its claims. They search for things that might justify abortion but, as you noted, have to take them wildly out of context. And those same people deny things that are spectacularly clear: Jesus’ exclusivity for salvation (literally 100_+ passages in addition to John 14:6), his deity, that the Bible is truly the word of God, and more.

Leave a Reply

