Me, Judgmental?

Sorry for being gone for so long. We’ve been busy doing some renovations to our home. We’re still not done, there is more “detail” work to finish, but time is at a premium so we have to wait until another block of days off in order to finish her up!
So anyway, I’ve been accused by some pro-aborts of being judgmental. Do I judge? Yes. Is it judgmental? No.
Here’s why:

Pro-aborts are misinterpreting and misapplying Jesus’ teaching “Do not judge lest you be judged yourselves” (Matthew 7:1, NASB) Luke actually put it a better way:

And do not pass judgment and you will not be judged;
and do not condemn, and you shall not be condemned;
pardon, and you will be pardoned (Luke 6:37, NASB).

Luke helped clarify that the kind of judging Jesus forbade in Matthew was condemnatory, unforgiving judgmentalism. Such is the kind of judging that the Master prohibited.

Jesus did not forbid all use of critical thinking and spiritual discernment. His prohibition was directed toward hypocrites who judge with wrong motives. They did not seek to correct, forgive, restore, and reconcile brothers and sisters to God. Rather, they intentionally sought to injure others for personal gain. (1)

I do none of those. If I judge a woman’s decision to have an abortion, I do point out that it was indeed, an sinful act. What I also point out is that God is loving and forgiving God, and all she has to do is ask Him for forgiveness.

I’ve also been condemned for my views on gay and lesbians adopting. I’m sorry, but I do not think that a same sex couple can raise a child to be a moral human being when they in fact are committing an immoral act. Homosexuality is a sin, as stated in the bible.

You shall not lie with a male as with a woman; it is an abomination. Leviticus 18:22

Pointing out sinful behavior is not being judgmental. It is done out of love and concern for the sinner. Letting it continue would be a hateful act. If you saw a man walking down the road and was about to be hit by a truck, would you do something to help save his life or would you stand by and watch him be destroyed? I’m hoping you’d do something. That’s the same thing as pointing out sinful behavior and trying to correct it. Saving a man from getting hit by a truck is saving his life, Pointing out and attempting to correct sin is saving an immortal soul.

Being judgmental means to judge others on the same sins I am guilty of. I  can’t judge my neighbors for having a messy garage since I have one too. I can’t judge a person for being overweight since I am too. I am not homosexual, nor have I ever had an abortion. See the difference?

Until next time, God Bless.

 

Leave a Reply

